About

Leadership & staff

Director’s Message 

The opening of a new museum offers a unique opportunity to define its purpose. Museums can and should be places of civic engagement, which not only reflect the world but also imagine it in new ways. The juxtaposition of these two types of images, the documentary and the propositional, within the context of the world as it stands, formulates what we believe to be a fundamental capacity of a museum: to ask questions. Thoughtful and consequential questions are only formulated when one is specifically positioned, positioned directly inside the subject matter, in order to have the necessary insight, but simultaneously outside of it, to be able to claim critical distance.

Remai Modern exists precisely at that intersection: on the South Saskatchewan River, but at the point at which it bends into Saskatoon’s downtown core; on Treaty 6 Territory, while in a country shaped by the forces of colonialism; in a city that is all but surrounded by rural farmlands; participating in a global art discourse from a specifically regional position. The museum has benefitted greatly from its siting, on the dividing line between dichotomous pairs; a siting from which we have had the opportunity to be completely immersed in all the while looking in, decidedly, from the outside; a siting from which we can posit questions of consequence.

It is, then, an extraordinary pleasure to introduce our inaugural programs on the historic occasion of the opening of Remai Modern. These programs, which include the inaugural exhibition Field Guide as well as projects, cinema programs, web programs and learning and other engagement programs, aim to both support the work and vision of artists and engage diverse communities. Through these programs we invite you to actively participate in the artistic process, to contemplate answers, to ask your own questions and to join us in imagining new possibilities for a 21st-century art museum.

Welcome to Remai Modern

Gregory Burke

LEADERsHIP & STAFF

CEO OFFICE

Gregory Burke
Executive Director & CEO

Jana King-Mayes
Executive Assistant
+ 1 306 975-7669
jking-mayes@remaimodern.org

Jillian Slivenski
Administrative Assistant

+ 1 306 975-8051

jslivenski@remaimodern.org

Lyndon Linklater
Indigenous Relations Adviser

DEVELOPMENT

Sheryl Fox
Director of Development

+ 1 306 975-2768

sfox@remaimodern.org

Kathleen Crowther
Development Manager
+ 1 306 975-7685
kcrowther@remaimodern.org

Anna Burton
Development Associate
+ 1 306 385-7382
aburton@remaimodern.org

Sacha Tegenkamp
Membership Coordinator
+ 1 306 975-8498
stegenkamp@remaimodern.org

Jennifer Heinrichs
Development Coordinator
+ 1 306 975-8060
jheinrichs@remaimodern.org


CURATORIAL & PROGRAMS

Sandra Guimarães
Director of Programs & Chief Curator


+ 1 306 975-8056

sguimaraes@remaimodern.org

Donald Roach
Exhibitions Manager

+ 1 306 975-8054
droach@remaimodern.org

Sandra Fraser
Curator (Collections
)
+ 1 306 975-8057
sfraser@remaimodern.org

Rose Bouthillier
Curator (Exhibitions)

+ 1 306 975-8291
rbouthillier@remaimodern.org

Troy Gronsdahl
Associate Curator (Live Programs)

+ 1 306 975-8487

tgronsdahl@remaimodern.org

Ushma Thakrar
Editor & Publications Coordinator

+ 1 306 978-8965
uthakrar@remaimodern.org

Troy Mamer
Programs Assistant (Curatorial)

+ 1 306 978-8964
tmamer@remaimodern.org

Jillian Cyca
Registrar

+ 1 306 975-8099
jcyca@remaimodern.org

Sharon Deason
Registrar (Term Position)

+ 1 306-975-8059
sdeason@remaimodern.org

Jason Hosaluk
Preparator

+ 1 306 975-8061
jhosaluk@remaimodern.org

Chad Redl
Preparator
+ 1 306 975-8061
credl@remaimodern.org

Kelly Van Damme
Learning & Engagement Coordinator


+ 1 306 975-8052

kvandamme@remaimodern.org

Carol Wylie
Programs Assistant (Learning & Engagement)

+ 1 306 975-8031
cwylie@remaimodern.org



COMMUNICATIONS & MARKETING

Alison Murawsky
Director of Marketing

+ 1 306 975-8055
amurawsky@remaimodern.org

Stefan Deprez
Guest Experience Manager

+ 1 306 975-8053
sdeprez@remaimodern.org

Sarah Timmons
Guest Experience & Volunteer Coordinator

+1 306 975-8088
stimmons@remaimodern.org

Glen McKee
Art & Design Store Manager

+1 306 975-8050
gmckee@remaimodern.org

Amy Hood
Art & Design Store Supervisor

+1 306-978-8951
ahood@remaimodern.org

Sheila Robertson
Communications Manager


+ 1 306 975-2242
srobertson@remaimodern.org

Reilly Forbes
Content Coordinator

+ 1 306 978-8961
rforbes@remaimodern.org

FINANCE & STRATEGY

Dean Summach
Director of Finance & Strategy

+ 1 306 975-7614
dsummach@remaimodern.org

Jane Zaleschuk
Accounting Manager

+1 306 975-7613
jzaleschuk@remaimodern.org

John Henderson
Security & Building Manager

+1 306 975-7616
jhenderson@remaimodern.org

Mary Ann Posada
Accounting Clerk

+ 1 306 975-7619
mposada@remaimodern.org


Board of directors

Alain Gaucher, Q.C.
Chair 

Scott Verity
Vice Chair

Trent Bester
Treasurer

Alison Norlen
Secretary

Darrell Bell


Denise Belman

Councillor Cynthia Block

Karen Chad

Brenda Green

Councillor Mairin Loewen


Keitha McClocklin

Garnet McElree

Grant Stoneham

Dion Tootoosis

MUSEUM HOURS

TUESDAYS & FRIDAYS
10 AM10 PM
WEDNESDAYS & THURSDAYS
10 AM5 PM
SATURDAYS, SUNDAYS & HOLIDAYS
10 AM5 PM


Remai Modern is closed Mondays except for statutory holidays.