About

Leadership & staff

Director’s Message 

The opening of a new museum offers a unique opportunity to define its purpose. Museums can and should be places of civic engagement, which not only reflect the world but also imagine it in new ways. The juxtaposition of these two types of images, the documentary and the propositional, within the context of the world as it stands, formulates what we believe to be a fundamental capacity of a museum: to ask questions. Thoughtful and consequential questions are only formulated when one is specifically positioned, positioned directly inside the subject matter, in order to have the necessary insight, but simultaneously outside of it, to be able to claim critical distance.

Remai Modern exists precisely at that intersection: on the South Saskatchewan River, but at the point at which it bends into Saskatoon’s downtown core; on Treaty 6 Territory, while in a country shaped by the forces of colonialism; in a city that is all but surrounded by rural farmlands; participating in a global art discourse from a specifically regional position. The museum has benefitted greatly from its siting, on the dividing line between dichotomous pairs; a siting from which we have had the opportunity to be completely immersed in all the while looking in, decidedly, from the outside; a siting from which we can posit questions of consequence.

It is, then, an extraordinary pleasure to introduce our inaugural programs on the historic occasion of the opening of Remai Modern. These programs, which include the inaugural exhibition Field Guide as well as projects, cinema programs, web programs and learning and other engagement programs, aim to both support the work and vision of artists and engage diverse communities. Through these programs we invite you to actively participate in the artistic process, to contemplate answers, to ask your own questions and to join us in imagining new possibilities for a 21st-century art museum.

Welcome to Remai Modern

Gregory Burke

LEADERsHIP & STAFF

CEO OFFICE

Gregory Burke
Executive Director & CEO

Jana King-Mayes
Executive Assistant
+ 1 306 975-7669
jking-mayes@remaimodern.org

Carolyn Knafelc
Interim Director of Human Resources

+1 306 978-8108
cknafelc@remaimodern.org

Dianne Romphf
Administrative Assistant

+ 1 306 975-8051
dromphf@remaimodern.org

Lyndon J. Linklater
Indigenous Relations Adviser

+ 1 306 978-8969
llinklater@remaimodern.org

DEVELOPMENT

Lisa Laskowski
Director of Development & Chief Development Officer
+ 1 306 975-2768
llaskowski@remaimodern.org

Kathleen Crowther
Development Manager
+ 1 306 975-7685
kcrowther@remaimodern.org

Anna Burton
Development Associate
+ 1 306 385-7382
aburton@remaimodern.org

Logan Richards
Membership Coordinator
+ 1 306 975-8498
lrichards@remaimodern.org

Jennifer Heinrichs
Development Coordinator
+ 1 306 975-8060
jheinrichs@remaimodern.org

FINANCE & STRATEGY

Dean Summach
Director of Finance & Strategy

+ 1 306 975-7614
dsummach@remaimodern.org

Val Bradley
Accounting Manager
+1 306 975-7613
vbradley@remaimodern.org

Mary Ann Posada
Accounting Clerk

+1 306 975-7619
mposada@remaimodern.org

Justin Fisher
IT Technician

+1 306 978-8987
jfisher@remaimodern.org


CURATORIAL & PROGRAMS

Sandra Guimarães
Director of Programs & Chief Curator

+ 1 306 975-8056
sguimaraes@remaimodern.org

Donald Roach
Exhibitions Manager

+ 1 306 975-8054
droach@remaimodern.org

Sandra Fraser
Curator (Collections
)
+ 1 306 975-8057
sfraser@remaimodern.org

Rose Bouthillier
Curator (Exhibitions)

+ 1 306 975-8291
rbouthillier@remaimodern.org

Troy Gronsdahl
Associate Curator (Live Programs)

+ 1 306 975-8487
tgronsdahl@remaimodern.org

Troy Mamer
Programs Assistant (Curatorial)

+ 1 306 978-8964
tmamer@remaimodern.org

Jillian Cyca (Currently on Leave)
Registrar

+ 1 306 975-8099
jcyca@remaimodern.org

Sharon Deason
Registrar (Term Position)

+ 1 306-975-8059
sdeason@remaimodern.org

Cole Thompson
Registration Assistant

+1 306 978-8970
cthompson@remaimodern.org

Jason Hosaluk
Preparator

+ 1 306 975-8061
jhosaluk@remaimodern.org

Chad Redl
Preparator
+ 1 306 975-8061
credl@remaimodern.org

Kelly Van Damme
Learning & Engagement Manager

+ 1 306 975-8052
kvandamme@remaimodern.org

Carol Wylie
Learning & Engagement Coordinator

+ 1 306 975-8031
cwylie@remaimodern.org

Wendy Paterson
Programs Assistant

+1 306 975-8144
wpaterson@remaimodern.org

Rebecca La Marre
Editor & Publications Coordinator
+1 306 978-8965
rlamarre@remaimodern.org


COMMUNICATIONS & MARKETING

Alison Murawsky (Currently on Leave)
Director of Marketing

+ 1 306 975-8055
amurawsky@remaimodern.org

Rachael Kenny
Director of Marketing (Term Position)
+ 1 306 975-8055
rkenny@remaimodern.org

Stefan Deprez
Guest Experience Manager

+ 1 306 975-8053
sdeprez@remaimodern.org

Sarah Timmons
Guest Experience & Volunteer Coordinator

+1 306 975-8088
stimmons@remaimodern.org

Glen McKee
Art & Design Store Manager

+1 306 975-8050
gmckee@remaimodern.org

Amy Hood
Art & Design Store Supervisor

+1 306 978-8951
ahood@remaimodern.org

Stephanie McKay
Communications Manager

+1 306 975-2242
smckay@remaimodern.org 

Pam Nimegeers
Design Coordinator

+ 1 306 975-7617
pnimegeers@remaimodern.org

Reilly Forbes
Content Coordinator

+ 1 306 978-8961
rforbes@remaimodern.org

Board of directors

Scott Verity
Chair

Trent Bester
Vice Chair

Jenna Richards
Treasurer

Alison Norlen
Secretary


Beau Atkins

Councillor Cynthia Block

Karen Chad

Fatima Coovadia


Veronica Gamracy

Councillor Mairin Loewen

Garnet McElree

Grant Stoneham

MUSEUM HOURS

TUESDAYS
10 AM10 PM
WEDNESDAYS
10 AM5 PM
THURSDAYS
10 AM–5 PM
FRIDAYS
10 AM–10 PM
SATURDAYS
10 AM–5 PM
SUNDAYS
10 AM–5 PM


OPEN MONDAY, NOVEMBER 12
10 AM–5 PM


HOLIDAYS
10 AM-5 PM


102 Spadina Crescent East
Saskatoon SK S7K 0L3